Halina's Thoughts

Home » 2017 » April » 01

Daily Archives: April 1, 2017

IATEFL Online Conference in Glasgow, 2017

Tune in for live coverage from Glasgow on Monday 3rd April

 

 

Following my previous year experience, I am willing to write a few blog posts about the video content (streamed or recorded interviews or video sessions) published on the IATEFL Online site during the 2017 IATEFL Conference.
Watch the 2017 IATEFL Conference live online
51st Annual International IATEFL Conference and Exhibition
SEC, Glasgow, UK
4th-7th April 2017
Pre-Conference Events and Associates’ Day, 3rd April 2017

 

About Me

Source: About Me

About Me

img_2404
I am an enthusiastic online non-native English teacher. I have been teaching English online since 2010. I have taught children as well as adults. I have a master’s degree in education from the University of Wroclaw, Poland, Philology, Linguistics Jul 1974.
After 40 years of teaching, I grow into an experienced online professional tutor. I specialize in Conversational English. I also prepare, for variety tests, including the Cambridge and Oxford standardized exams.
I take advantage of new technologies. My approach is Teaching English with Technology. I use blended learning, flipping the classroom, learning by teaching or encouraging change from passive to fully active learners are significant implements in my teaching/ learning.
Work Samples
Learning and Teaching Online
However, online learning involves more than just the presentation and distribution of the materials using the Web: the learner and the learning process should be the focus of online learning. Teaching face-to-face and teaching online are both teachings, but they are qualitatively different. Online education starts when faculty moves from the traditional classroom to the online classroom. There are some things that the two have in common, but there are also plenty of differences.
Halina’s Conversational English
ENGLISH FOR COMMUNICATION HALINA’S ENGLISH ONLINE COURSE

Throughout my online course, participants will be able to ask questions before (in the courseware), during the Virtual Class (in the chat box), and after (in the courseware) For the duration of the six live lessons, I will show you exactly what you need to do to make fast progress and achieve your dream of being able to speak English spontaneously as well as naturally. I will go through the approach based on your learning style and show you the best methods and techniques so that you will make unbelievable progress.
Technology and Teaching
To me, teaching with technology involves the development of my approaches that includes four major modules: the course content, the coach, the students and the technology implements. After over thirty years of teaching, I felt bored with my traditional technics and wanted to find some inspiration, as well as improvement. My motivation, to search for the updated coaching methods, was an eagerness to get my classes more challenging and more exciting. Determining how to teach with technology has assisted me to make progress as an instructor and a scholar. Educational activity with technology can deepen student learning by supporting instructional objectives. Nevertheless, it can be challenging to choose the “best” tech tools while not losing sight of your destinations for student scholarship. In the classroom, technology can encompass all sorts of devices from low-tech pencil, newspaper publisher, and chalkboard, to the utilization of presentation software, or high-tech tablets, online collaboration, and conferencing tools, and more. The new technologies allow us to try things in physical and virtual classrooms that were not possible before. What you use depends fundamentally on what you are attempting to reach.
The Future of Education
My Hopes for the Future Education

“Education is simply the soul of society as it passes from one generation to another.” – G.K. Chesterton My hope is that teachers will make learning personalized rather than standardized for everyone. My hope allows improving students’ creativity, and educators increase that natural curiosity with learners. Curiosity is the basis of innovation. Curiosity will power our world to progress. My hope is that you charge the power of technology in thoughtful and incredible ways. Applied science can connect everyone, everywhere, at whatever time. We should use it to our advantage. I hope for everyone to be able to discover the things you are passionate about. I also hope that you have remarkable, encouraging educators and mentors who try groundbreaking and wild teaching techniques to help you grow as a learner. My hope is you are ready for the challenges as well as the failure. Making mistakes is a way to learn. It’s not about the disaster; it’s how you respond to the failure. And finally, my hope is that your school is different from most of the current transactional learning models, where the students are consumers of education.

Lastly, I hope for people to be just educational learners fitted in transformational learning approach with opportunity for active, creative and profound personal development. Education can take place anywhere and at any time. It is not only about reading, writing, and learning mathematical practices. Knowledge is wide-ranging. It’s breathing.

Learning is the future. “I am not a teacher, but an awakener.” ― Robert Frost

M.A. Halina Ostankowicz- Bazan
Social Media & Personal Websites
Blog : (http://halina123dotcom.wordpress.com)
Facebook : (http://facebook.com/halina.ostankowiczbazan )
Google+ : (https://plus.google.com/+HalinaOstankowiczBazan/posts)
LinkedIn : (http://www.linkedin.com/pub/halina-ostankowicz-bazan/3b/841/4b6)
Twitter : (https://twitter.com/halina1234)
Halina’s English Academy : (http://halina123dotcom.wordpress.com )
http://halina123dotcom.wordpress.com
http://www.wiziq.com/halina-maria-ostanko
http://halinaostankowicz.blogspot.com/
http://www.slideshare.net/HalinaOstakowiczBazan/presentations
https://www.youtube.com/user/1234halina1

