Halina's Thoughts

Home » 2017 » June » 07

Daily Archives: June 7, 2017

Non-native speakers encouraged to apply – by Rob Sheppard

I am a professional non- native English teacher fully qualified to give classes and courses online.
I teach English as a foreign language. I also conduct lectures in English on Polish History and Culture for students from all over the world. I have been participating in online teacher’s training courses since 2010.
I am striving to involve students in all kinds of activities like connecting and exchanging information. I find Virtual Classes tremendously exciting and challenging; they make attendees feel like having real meetings and discussions.
Who is a native English speaker?
Also, who is a native American?
The answers differ, don’t they?

TEFL Equity Advocates

Without discrimination against ‘NNESTs’ I never would be an English teacher. I’d wager I’m not the only one.

In late August of 2006, somewhere in the crowded streets of Kangbuk District in Seoul, a woman with a master’s degree in English and tired eyes walked to the post office with a padded yellow mailer under her arm. The next stop after the post office was the bank. She probably walked with some hurried annoyance at being asked to perform this task, thinking of all the other things she had to do. Inside the mailer was my passport, and at the bank she’d wire me around $600, a full reimbursement of the cost of my flight to Korea.

When I arrived in Seoul about a week later I was so absorbed in my own exhaustion, excitement, and culture shock that all I thought when I met this woman, my new supervisor…

View original post 981 more words

